Jiu Jitsu Travel

I feel fortunate to be able to travel and train again.  It has become an important way for my Jiu Jitsu to grow now that I don’t compete as much.  I always have tough matches and I learn a lot during the technique portions.  The seminars and camps are an important mental and physical reset for me.  They are also a way to reconnect with old friends and make new ones.  They are the type of trips that change your perspective and allow growth in ways you may not have considered.

My very favorite camp of the year is quickly becoming our annual SBG ladies’ camp.  Women of any affiliation are welcome to train.  We choose a different gym to host each year.  Very recently we began to make it more of a lifestyle camp.  The women from the host gym plan awesome activities to follow our training each day.   We always roll together, but it is during the activities that the women really have a chance to get to know each other.  We have gone shooting, paddle boarding, listened to live music, hiked, and this year I think we will be adding some rock climbing to the list.  This year’s camp will be in Reno, Nevada.  It does change things to have the room full of women.  I think some of the ladies that would not normally speak up feel like they can. We have even had people participate in Jiu Jitsu for the first time at ladies’ camp! The rolls are more even. The conversations are just different. Rather than participants, the women in the room are expected to lead.

http://www.sbgcamps.com

In addition to our other biannual SBG camps, which I discussed in my last post, I have also started to go to some of Henry Akins destination camps including Costa Rica. That camp combines Jiu Jitsu, surfing, ecotourism, and amazing food; all my favorite things.  Our currency goes much further down there so if you can swing the plane ticket, everything else is very doable.   We usually train for three to four hours in the morning then have the rest of the day to explore.  

I try to surf every day that I’m down there.  I think I love it as much as I do Jiu Jitsu, I just don’t get a chance to do it nearly as often.  I am very much a white belt surfer.  One of the Hero BJJ coaches, Nacho, is a great instructor.   We were far more successful catching waves with him in the water.  I would highly recommend getting a lesson even if you have been out before.

There is so much to do in Costa Rica in and out of the water.  Some of our group went fishing and were able to catch and eat their own tuna.  We have gone snorkeling on sunset cruises.  We have toured a coffee plantation and cacao plantation.  Each one of these experiences included incredible wildlife.  We encountered sloths, toucans, monkeys, and crocodiles just to name a few.  The food is amazing and the local people I have encountered have been very kind.  We would end each day along with the locals watching jaw dropping sunsets.

It can be hard to come back to “real” life.  The camps at Hero BJJ in Tamarindo, Costa Rica are well worth the time and money.

Surf Lessons: http://surfcoachtama.com/

https://herobjj.com/retreats/

https://www.hiddenjiujitsucamps.com/

I also can’t leave out the Origin Immersion camps.  This camp is usually seven days long with three sessions per day.  Most of the sessions are very light technique drilling.  However, there are open mats after each round of teaching.  It is physically intense and the temptation to over-train is real.  The camp is set in Camp Laurel in Maine at a beautiful summer camp on Echo Lake.  Food and lodging on site are included in the price and on site which makes training that much a reality.

It is amazing to be surrounded by a group of Jiu Jitsu practitioners that are so devoted to self-improvement.  The spirit and ethos of the Origin brand permeate the atmosphere and attitude of the camp.  Hearing the stories of how the company started and how the head instructors like Pete Roberts, Jocko, and Dedeco made something great out of very little is so inspiring.  The lineup of coaches typically includes Alexey Cruz Pickerell, Ricardo Liborio, Echo Charles, and Dean Lister.  In other words, decades and decades of Jiu Jitsu experience.  There is a great mix of instruction.  There are some sessions that are split up by belt, some include the whole group, and others are Q and A. 

At night there is the added comradery of late-night food, bonfires, and of course one all you can eat lobster boil!

https://originmaine.com/immersion/

It is very possible to have similar experiences on a smaller scale dropping in at other gyms while traveling.  I will often try to squeeze in a training session if I’m away for some other reason.  I also love to visit other SBG gyms across our network when possible.  The culture is consistent even outside of the U.S.  They are welcoming and technical.  You also get great inside information on the best places to eat and explore from local gym members.  I’ll write more about how to choose a drop in gym and what to bring on a Jiu Jitsu trip soon.  These are questions that I often answer.

Leave a comment